Pizza Puff-ups (Fed 4 for about $5.40)

Tonight, dinner was a huge hit. I told my two year old that we were having pizza, and I was worried that when it came out of the oven, and didn’t look like “normal” pizza, I would have a fit on my hands. However, he REALLY enjoyed it and asked for more! This was a super easy meal, which is good, because I do not feel rested at all after this busy weekend. I did all the mixing in my stand mixer, the only effort was cooking the sausage.

Pizza Puffs
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Brown 8 oz. sausage, I used regular breakfast sausage.

While the sausage is cooking, mix together 1 1/4 C. flour, 1/2 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 tsp. sugar, 1/8 tsp. salt, 1/4 C. cold butter. Mix until it looks like cornmeal, it might take cleaning the butter out of the paddle a couple times. (Or you could cut the butter in using a food processor, I just didn’t want to dirty dishes) Then add in 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp. garlic salt, 4 oz. grated mozzarella cheese, 2 oz. grated sharp cheddar cheese, 6 T. milk. Add in cooked sausage and 4 oz. pepperoni (I cut each pepperoni into quarters).

Shape the dough into balls just like you would “drop biscuits” and put on greased cookie sheet. I made mine about an inch thick and two inches wide. Cook in preheated oven for about 14-16 minutes or until browned on top. These are going to turn out fluffy and cheesy and delicious.

Serve with marinara for dipping.

Yield: About 10 Pizza puff-ups

8 oz. breakfast sausage $1.99
1 1/4 C. flour $.16
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 C. cold butter $.37
1 tsp. Italian Seasoning
1/2 tsp. garlic salt
4 oz. grated mozzarella cheese $1.25
2 oz. grated sharp cheddar cheese $.63
6 T. milk
4 oz. pepperoni slices $1.00
Marinara for dipping

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

