Vegan Cashew Fudge

Vegan Cashew FudgeNo animals were harmed in the making of this fudge šŸ™‚

We are going to a brewers gathering, and there are a couple of people there who are vegans. It’s sort of a potluck. I didn’t know last time I went (which was my first time there) that there would be vegans, so I brought a couple dishes FULL OF MEAT. I felt terrible. I LOVE making vegan dishes, but we live in Texas. And… we don’t live in Austin (how I wish we did :). So you never think, “I’m going to a party, I’ll make a vegan dish!” But I made my homemade bread, which is Vegan, and they LOVED it! So this time, I am making a couple yummy things for them to enjoy!

This fudge is made with cashews, and if you present it as “normal, usual” fudge, people might turn their noses up to it, because it is a little different. However, if you present it as cashew fudge, it’s DELICIOUS. I only say this because when you eat fudge, you are thinking one thing, and this has a little bit of a nutty taste to it (obviously). However… delicious! And, no animals.
Creamy Cashews
Ok, so start with 2 C. raw (unsalted) cashews. Put them in your food processor and blend them until you can’t blend them anymore. Seriously, this seems like you are never going to get it smooth… I added 1/3 C. water (a little more or less for your liking), but just keep going until it’s smooth, it does take about 5-7 minutes, and you will probably have to open the food processor several times and scrape down the crumbs. Eventually though, it will become creamy!
IMG_9271
While you are doing that, put 1/2 C. Organic Coconut oil in a pan on low heat to melt it, add 1/2 tsp. salt, then add in cashew butter and remove from heat. Add in 3.5 C. powdered sugar, add 1 cup at a time and mixing until smooth, then add another cup and mix until smooth. Once it’s cooled off a bit, add in your sprinkles (make sure they are vegan!), I used about 1 tsp. Press into a 8×8 pan (I misted with olive oil first), sprinkle with more sprinkles and put in the fridge to cool!

2 C. Raw Cashews $6.00
1/3 C. Water
1/2 C. Organic Coconut oil $.75
1/2 tsp. Salt
3.5 C. Powdered Sugar $1.79
2 tsp. sprinkles

I adapted this fudge from Blissful Basil. You can see her recipe here: http://blissfulbasil.com/2013/01/13/happy-100th-blissful-basil/#comment-649

This entry was posted in Food, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vegan Cashew Fudge

  1. Pingback: Cookies and Cream Fudge | Lima Bean Lover

Leave a Reply

