Cauliflower Pizza Crust (Fed 4 for $3.86)

IMG_7181Alright, I finally did what everyone else is doing… but pinterest made me 🙂

I’ve had my eye on this cauliflower pizza crust for some time now, but I haven’t been brave enough to try it myself. I could easily blame it on my kids and say they don’t like their veggies, but really I’m the one who was worried about it. I love pizza, but cauliflower crust… doesn’t sound so swell. However, it was FANTASTIC! My husband loved it! My only complaint was that it wasn’t crispy like a thin crust pizza is.

We were doing gluten free for my son for a while, and this was MUCH better than the “gluten-free pizza crust” I paid entirely too much for at the store! Next time I’ll add a little flour to crisp it up, since the gluten is not an issue for us anymore. I was also shocked that you couldn’t really tell we were eating cauliflower! It was very well masked under all that cheese. The two 2 year olds couldn’t get enough of it. Alright already, get to the recipe!
IMG_7184
Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees. I steamed a half a head of cauliflower until it was soft, about 15 minutes. You could boil it if you choose. After the cauliflower is soft, drain it and put it on a paper towel to get the excess water off. Then, using a cheese grater, grate (as best you can) the cauliflower as you would cheese until it’s in little pieces into a large bowl. It comes out to about 1 1/2-2 C cauliflower. Add 2 eggs, 1/2 C grated mozzarella cheese and 1/2 C grated cheddar cheese. Again, I like to grate my own cheese instead of buying pre-grated cheese just because I like the taste. Season the “crust” as you would pizza dough and press it onto a pre-oiled cookie sheet. If your cookie sheets are not looking so great, I would lay parchment paper down on it 🙂 Press it out about 1/2-1/4 inch thick. Put in preheated 425 degree oven for 15-18 minutes, or until top starts to brown slightly. Then top with sauce and toppings of your choice and place back in oven under broiler until cheese melts!

1 head cauliflower $1.29IMG_7185
2 eggs $.32
1 C grated cheddar cheese $.75
1 C grated mozzarella cheese $.75

Toppings of your choice, ours:
Leftover sauce 🙂
1 C grated mozzarella/cheddar mix $.75
kid friendly

This entry was posted in Food, Other and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

