Vegetarian Potato Soup (Fed 4 with leftovers for $4.25)

You will see in this post why I have not been posting so much lately.  My one year old is having a super hard time napping, deciding if he wants one or two naps a day, and screaming for most of the nap.  I am a sucker and love on him because I don’t want him fussing, but that is another story…

Also, he is in to EVERYTHING!!!

Ok, back to soup 🙂  I have been mentioning that I want potato soup for days.  My husband keeps asking if we can just have baked potatoes and I can have a glass of milk with mine (I guess he doesn’t like potato soup).  He ate two bowls of soup tonight though 🙂

I cooked this in a vegetarian fashion because we are trying to cut back on meat, but I did use bacon as a garnish.  I did not want to use canned “cream of yucky” products though.  Dice about 5 lbs. of potatoes (about 7 medium) and put in the crockpot.  You do not have to peel the potatoes, but you can.  I peeled half of the potatoes because my husband doesn’t like a lot of potato skin, he says it makes the soup taste like dirt.  Add 2.5 C water.  Dice 2 ribs of celery, 1/2 onion, and grate two carrots, add to the crock pot.  Cut the kernels off two cobs of corn and add to the crock pot.  Add 1 tsp. pepper, 1 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. garlic salt, and 1 tsp. ranch powder to the crock pot.  I set my crock pot to medium heat for 4 hours, stirring occasionally.

After 4 hours, add 4 oz. cream cheese and 1.5 C milk and mash with a potato masher until it is the consistency you want it to be.  You can add any garnish you want to the soup.  We used bacon bits, sour cream, cheese, olives, and onions!

5 lbs. potatoes, diced – $1.50

2.5 C water

2 ribs celery, diced – $.30

1/2 onion, diced – $.40

2 carrots, grated w/ cheese grater $.20

2 Cobs of corn, kernels removed – $.50

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

1 tsp. garlic salt

1 tsp. ranch powder

4 oz. cream cheese – $1.00

1.5 C. milk – $.35

grated cheese, bacon bits, sour cream, olives, onions for garnish

This entry was posted in Food, Other, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

