Stuffed Bell Peppers (Fed 4 for $6.69)

I remember when I was young my mom used to make stuffed peppers, and I seem to remember liking them.  However, every time I make stuffed peppers, no one eats them.  They don’t even look good.

THIS TIME… they were DELICIOUS.

The trick is, skip the rice. 

ChiIMG_6423cken was on sale at the grocery store this week, so I stocked up.  I put two chicken breasts in my food processor (about 1 lb. of meat) and pulsed it until it was shredded up.  Then I cooked it in a skillet, breaking it up as it cooked until it was done.  I added half of one packet of taco seasoning.  You could add onions and garlic if you like, I was cooking for other people and wasn’t sure if they would enjoy that, so I skipped it! 

While the chicken is cooking, cut the bell peppers in half (I used 3 peppers) and take out seeds and stems.  Place them facedown in a baking dish and cook in a preheated oven (350 degrees) for about 15 minutes, remove when the skin starts to blister. 

Add 8 oz. frozen corn, one can of drained, rinsed black beans to the chicken and cook for about 5 minutes.  Then turn the peppers over and fill with the chickeIMG_6425n mixture.  Top with shredded cheese and put them in the oven until the cheese is melted. 

It was so good, the kiddos even ate them (my son HATES bell peppers)!

You could serve these with beans and rice.  Easy, cheap meal 🙂

1lb. Chicken breasts (shredded in food processor) $1.47

3 Bell Peppers $2.50

1 Can Black Beans $.97

8 oz. Bag Frozen Corn $.75

1/2 Packet Taco Seasoning $.25

1/2 C Shredded Cheddar Cheese $.75

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

