Peanut Butter (1 Jar for $2.99)

What do peanut butter and cottage cheese have in common?  It’s a funny story.  Recently I was at the store looking to buy cottage cheese.  We have a dairy in my town and I would love to buy “local.”  I have started taking a look at the ingredients in our food, because I’m interested in what we put in our bellies.  There were over 20 ingredients in the cottage cheese, but another (Daisy brand) had only 3 ingredients.  I don’t understand why some companies skip out on being healthy so they can speed up the process of cheese making.  Well, I do understand, but I don’t agree with it.  Ok, enough with the ranting.

Peanut butter, I started with 1 pound of shelled peanuts.  You can use any variety, honey roasted, salted, unsalted.  I used roasted, salted nuts because they were on sale.  However, I LOVE honey roasted peanut butter.  So start with peanuts, and put them in your food processor.  Turn it on and watch the magic happen.  After about a minute, it will get very choppy and look like this.

It is helpful if you take the lid off about every 30 seconds and scrape down the peanuts from the sides of the food processor.

Don’t get impatient, don’t add oil.  Just keep the food processor going.  It might look like it’s not doing anything, but 5 minutes later…

PEANUT BUTTER!

At this point, it is warm (because of the food processor) and creamy.  You can add cinnamon, honey, brown sugar, whatever you like.  Put it in a jar (I use pint jars) and try not to eat it all with a spoon 🙂 You can refrigerate your peanut butter if you like it to be thicker, and I have never had a problem with it separating.  You could also use another nut, almonds, cashews, whatever!

Enjoy!

1lb peanuts $2.99

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peanut Butter (1 Jar for $2.99)

  1. Little Sis says:

    I’ve been thinking about this too. The price of peanut butter is going through the roof. I was buying Kirkland natural PB for a while at a good price, but haven’t been able to find it lately. Looks like it’s time to peanut shop.

Leave a Reply

