Bacon Omelette Cups (Fed 3 for $2.28)

Ohhh… How I love bacon… I really do, I love bacon. I could totally be a vegetarian if it weren’t for bacon, but that’s another discussion. I also love making things in my muffin pan. They are so easy to just grab on your way out in the morning. These are delicious, easy to eat, and SO BACON-Y. The perfect breakfast 🙂

Start by preheating your oven to 375 degrees.

I made 6 “cups” with this recipe, so start by lining a muffin pan (6 cups with this recipe, or double it and use the whole pan) with one piece of bacon per cup. Stick them in the oven, for 15 mins.

While you are doing that, cube a potato and cook in a skillet on the stove on medium-high heat. I would either spray the pan or use some Olive Oil to prevent sticking. I cook them for 15 minutes to get them browned and soft. I put a lid on the skillet to sort of steam them kinda like “home fries.”

Take the bacon out of the oven, and use a paper towel to remove some of the grease out of the cup. Just wad it up, stick it in the middle of each cup, soak up the grease, and throw away the paper towel. I do that so the eggs aren’t just sitting in grease. There will still be some grease, and this will help cook the egg. Then add a spoonful (about a heaping Tablespoon) of cooked potatoes to the center of each cup. Then add a cube of cheddar cheese on top of the potato.

In a small bowl, scramble 3 eggs and season them how you like. I put a little pepper and garlic salt. Then pour about 1/2 egg into each cup. You should still be able to see the other contents in the cup. You don’t want to add too much egg, because it will puff up some.

Cook them for another 15 minutes. Remove them from the oven and immediately take them out of the muffin pan. Then… gobble them up! I don’t know about saving and reheating these, they never last that long 🙂

6 Slices of Bacon $1.33

3 Eggs $50

1 Potato cubed $.15

2 Slices of Cheddar Cheese, cubed $.30

 

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bacon Omelette Cups (Fed 3 for $2.28)

  1. This is genius! Breakfast tomorrow is saved. Thanks for the inspiration. Did I say genius?! 🙂 Cheers.

  2. refinedchef says:

    Original and full of creativity! I can’t wait to make these at my next brunch! Thank you for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Recipe of the Week: Bacon, Potatoes, and Cheese Omelette Cups | A Lot On Your Plate

  4. Pingback: Recipe of the Week: Bacon, Potatoes, and Cheese Omelette Cups

Leave a Reply

