Summery Chickpea Salad (Fed 3 for $2.00)

This summery salad is so fresh and delicious.  It is crispy and has so many wonderful flavors, it is also VERY inexpensive if the vegetables are in season.  I have to note, that this is all we are eating for a meal, we might add a slice of cheese.  We try to eat less meat than most Americans, and this is right up my alley!

Chickpeas (Garbanzo beans) are very high in protein, so that is our substitute for meat.  You can very easily use a can of chickpeas, but we do not eat canned vegetables, so I pressure cook mine.  I make lots of chickpeas at a time because I also make hummus, which is a great snack!  So I started off with a Tablespoon of minced garlic and a Tablespoon of Olive Oil in the bottom of my pressure cooker on medium heat.  I cooked the garlic until it was slightly browned, then added the chickpeas and about three times as much water as the amount of chickpeas I cooked (1 C Chickpeas = 3 C Water) and cooked for an hour.  You could also cook the chickpeas in a crockpot over night!

While the chickpeas were cooking, I chopped up 1/4 white onion, 1 cucumber (into slices, then quartered each slice), 1/2 LARGE tomato, 1 celery stick, and put in a large bowl.  I added 1 T olive oil, 1/2 tsp basil,  1/4 tsp dill weed, a couple turns of fresh ground pepper, 1 tsp balsamic vinegar into the veggies.  You can season this to taste, adding more or less if you like.

Once the chickpeas have finished cooking, drain them off and add to the salad.  I would let this set in the fridge for about an hour to let the flavors come together.  Then, enjoy!

 

 

One Cucumber $.59

1/2 Tomato $.39

1 rib of celery $.12

1/4 Onion $.15

Dried Chickpeas $.75

1/4 tsp Dill

1/2 tsp basil

1 tsp balsamic vinegar

1 T minced garlic

2 T EVOO

turn of fresh ground pepper

 

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summery Chickpea Salad (Fed 3 for $2.00)

  1. mzkynd says:

    Oh that sounds so yummy and perfect for the days when hubz isn’t home and I don’t feel like cooking!

Leave a Reply

