Sweet Beans & Bacon (Fed Two for $3.13)

My boys LOVE LOVE LOVE these beans. My husband practically licks the bowl after he finishes several servings.

I start off by pressure cooking the beans. I use dry pinto beans, just because it’s cheaper, and we don’t buy canned food. I cook about 1.5 C pinto beans, with about 4.5 C water on medium heat for 1 hour.

;

While the beans are cooking, I put 1/4 C ketchup, 1/2 C my favorite BBQ sauce (I use Rudy’s sissy sause), and 1/4 C brown sugar in my crock pot on high heat. Stir it all together to combine thoroughly. If your crock pot’s heat is VERY high, turn it down so the sauce does not burn. Because this is a sugary sauce, it will burn if the heat is too high.

In a skillet on the stove, I cut up three pieces of bacon (about the size of large bacon bits), chop 1/4 of an onion, and put 1 T. minced garlic all together. Cook it until the bacon is as crispy as you like it. My husband likes it extra crispy, I like it not so crispy. Keep in mind that when you put the bacon in with the sauce, it will soften up. Once the bacon is crispy, add everything in the skillet to the crockpot.

Once the beans have finished cooking, there should be just enough bean juice to cover the beans. If there is more juice, drain some off. Add the entire pot of beans to the crock pot, make sure the heat is high, and let it cook for another hour. These will be the best beans you have EVER had!!

1.5 C Beans $.56

1/4 C Ketchup $.40

1/2 C BBQ Sauce $.75

3 Pc. Chopped Bacon $.75

1/2 C Brown Sugar

1/4 Chopped Onion $.17

1 T Minced Garlic

;

;

;

;

;

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

