“Chicken” Sandwiches & French Fries (Fed Two for $1.80)

I’m going to do my first meal as a vegetarian meal!  Tonight we had “Chicken” sandwiches on homemade bread and french fries.

We decided as a family to cut back on eating meat.  Americans eat entirely too much meat.  Sometimes I will use a meat substitute, or sometimes I will have no meat at all in the meal, but have another protien instead.

We want to teach our boys that you do not always have to find something that reminds you of meat, you can be just as happy with just eating veggies!

These “chicken” patties come in a package of four, regularly priced at $3.99.  We LOVE them, so when they are on sale I stock up!  I bought these at 2/$4, making them $.50/patty.  I cook them on a panini press on medium heat for about 10 minutes.  You can microwave them, but they get mushy.  On the panini press they get nice and crispy!  We put a little of our favorite buffalo sauce on the sandwich, but you could top it with BBQ sauch, mayo, or whatever you are in the mood for!

I make my own bread, because it takes simple ingriedents, and it comes out to about $.75 per loaf.  No preservatives or chemicals you can’t pronounce.  It doesn’t stay good as long as bread purchased in the grocery store, but it doesn’t need to, because your family will not be able to keep their hands off of it!  So the bread cost me about $.30 for this meal.

Then I fried up 3 potatoes, and sprinkled with salt and fresh cracked pepper, no need for ketchup!  This cost about $.50.

So this meal cost a total $1.80 for two people, which would be $3.60 for four people.  What a bargain!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

