Homemade Tortillas! Made 16 for $.50!

After you make your own tortillas, you will never want to buy them at the store again (Unless you simply don’t have the time).

I made 16 tortillas, because I used them for dinner tonight, and I will make breakfast burritos with them!  This recipe can be halved.  In a large bowl, mix together 4 C Flour, 1 tsp. Baking Powder, 1 tsp Salt.  Then add in 1.5 C very warm water and 4 T. Olive Oil.  Mix until doughy, knead 10-15 times until smooth.

Let this set for 10 minutes.  Heat a non-stick skillet to medium heat.

Roll the dough into 16 balls, then roll them out very thin with a rolling pin (about 7 in. diameter).  Put them on the skillet, cooking one at a time, for about 1 minute each side (you can cook them depending on how crispy you like them) then remove and keep warm until ready to eat.

I put them in a large ziploc bag with a paper towel lining the ziploc and keep them in the fridge, then reheat on a skillet when ready to use.  These are fluffy and delicious.  They take about 30 mins to make, but they are SO TASTY!

4 C Flour $.45

1 tsp. Baking Powder

1 tsp. Salt

1.5 C Warm Water

4 T Olive Oil

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Homemade Tortillas! Made 16 for $.50!

  1. I love homemade tortillas! I made them recently, and I agree with you. I never want to go back to the packaged ones.

  2. Little Sis says:

    Thanks much. I’ll give this a try. I’ve tried a few other recipes and have been kind of meh with the results – and the one at a time cooking drives me a little crazy, but that’s probably a good lesson for me. ;-)

  3. Pingback: BLT Tacos (Fed 2 for $2.05) | stewartship

  4. Those look great! I make my own tortillas, too, but I haven’t in a while. I use coconut oil instead of olive oil – I’ll have to try it your way. :-)
    I have a Mexican sister-in-law and she teaches me all about “beans and tortillas,” haha. :-)

    Bonnie.
    http://www.recipeshappen.com

  5. Nicole says:

    Would it be possible to use part (maybe half and half) whole wheat flour?

  6. Pingback: Menu on the cheap! « My Yummy Local Life

  7. Pingback: BLT Wraps (Fed 3 for $3.79) | stewartship

  8. Pingback: 52 Weeks of Bread- weeks 19-22 | My Yummy Local Life

  9. Pingback: 52 weeks of bread- 24-32 | My Yummy Local Life

  10. Pingback: 52 weeks of Bread- 33-38 | My Yummy Local Life

  11. Pingback: 52 Weeks of Bread: 39-46 | My Yummy Local Life

  12. Pingback: 52 Weeks of Bread: 47-52 | My Yummy Local Life

Leave a Reply

